top of page

UK Youth Parliament - Angelo!

My name is Bellastar, and I’m a part of the Hampstead School’s Report Team. Today I am going to interview one of our contestants for the UK Youth MP: Angelo in year 10.

For those who do not know about the ‘Youth Parliament’ (UK YP), they are a youth organisation in the United Kingdom consisting of elected members aged between 11-18. They are elected to represent the views of young people in their area to the government and service providers.

To you what is a ‘Youth Parliament’? And what would you be responsible for?

Angelo:“Youth MP for Camden is a young person who speaks behalf of everyone in Camden, to be honest. Kind of range from Primary school you can go to, as soon as you’re old enough to understand to the age of 19.And I’ll be responsible for new ideas, ideas that you guys have, ideas, concerns everything like that.”

Why do you think you should become a member of the Youth Parliament? Also, what would you provide?

Angelo:“I think I should become a part of the Youth Parliament because I think that I have the most experience when it comes to the community of Camden. Also, think I understand some of the issues they go through or deal with. Lot of people want to become an MP but they don’t understand, haven’t been through. What I would provide, my policy is to provide emotional intelligent .Which is basically, for young people to understand kind of who you are, how to deal with your issues, your anger and self-awareness. So with issues like life crime, drug crime even mental health, to understand how to deal with issues or prevent it.”

Why did you chose to become a member of the Youth Parliament?

Angelo: “I wanted to become a member of the Youth Parliament because I thought as if, I’m not saying that the past councils weren’t going well but I think they need a bit of help, they’re getting a bit old so I feel like I could understand a lot of what is going on.”

What are the qualities, you think you need to become a Youth Parliament? And why?

Angelo:“ I think you need to be able to listen because I’m speaking behalf of young people and you need to be able to compromise .So if something doesn’t go to or you’re working on a project or target, you need to able to think of new ideas really quickly. And work around deadlines, like I’ll have a meeting on Tuesday then maybe I’ll have a speak I need to learn the next day so you need to compromise really quickly.”


bottom of page